Ashes Series 2021: England has announced its team for the Ashes series with Australia to be held later this year. Captain Joe Root and coach Silverwood have included many experienced players in their squad of 17 players. However, star all-rounder Ben Stokes, who has been off the field for a long time on the issue of metal health, has once again not been given a place in the team. Apart from this, Sam Curran has also not been included in the team due to a stress fracture in the IPL.

Let us tell you that there was a long suspense about whether this Ashes series will be held this year or not. Many players of the England team had expressed their concern about the strict protocol of Kovid-19 in Australia. However, after the assurance of Cricket Australia (CA), the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) agreed to play the conditional Ashes series.

It was not easy for England to select the team

Apart from the absence of Ben Stokes, it was not easy for England to select the team for the Ashes due to injuries to Jofra Archer, Ollie Stone and Sam Curran. Apart from this, England was also worried that due to the strict protocol of Kovid-19 in Australia, its main players should withdraw from this series. Captain Joe Root was also not completely sure about this tour earlier. However, he later agreed.

Apart from Root, now the team’s wicket-keeper batsman Jos Buttler has also agreed to play the Ashes. However, England has not given any uncapped player a place in its team for the Ashes. Due to which Liam Livingstone and Saqib Mahmood missed out on a place in the team.

The first match of the Ashes is to be played on December 8.

Under the captaincy of Joe Root, England has to tour Australia for five Test matches of the Ashes series. The first match of the series is proposed on 8 December in Brisbane. While the remaining four matches will be played in the grounds of Adelaide, Melbourne, Sydney and Perth. Strict protocols of Kovid-19 are in force in Australia at this time. The situation of lockdown is still restored in most of the cities here. In such a situation, the players of England are afraid of having strict quarantine rules, strict bio bubble here.

Let us tell you that Australia is currently in possession of the Ashes. In 2019, the series between both the teams was tied at 2-2. Earlier in 2017/18, Australia won the Ashes series by 4-0.

England’s squad for the Ashes- Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Jack Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dane Lawrence, Jack Leach, David Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Olly Robinson, Chris Woakes and Mark Wood.

Write A Comment